An intro to myself and my career goals #J398

 

DSC_0351

Hello everyone!

My name is Alan Cuevas and welcome to my professional blog. Through this blog I will talk about my life, career aspirations, and my passion for sports specifically track and cross-country.

About Me:

65558_4089812651389_352600730_n

I am a senior student-athlete at Chico State majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Marketing. I run for the Chico State cross-country and track team where I have helped our team earn four consecutive CCAA conference titles and two top six NCAA national finishes.

ccaa champions

Competitive sports have been a passion of mine since I first joined organized sports at five years old. Through the years I have played basketball, and soccer but I really fell in love with competitive running. In my opinion, there’s nothing better then lining up against 200 other competitors and seeing who’s willing to push themselves harder to the finish line.

Career Aspirations:

After college, I plan on pursuing a marketing or PR career in the sports industry. I hope to begin with an entry-level position at a marketing agency specializing with clients in the sports industry.

However one-day I hope to work for the NBA organization the Los Angeles Lakers. I know it will take years of networking, and experience to become an ideal job candidate but its been a goal of mine since middle school.

The Los Angeles Lakers and the National Basketball Association do a great job of engaging with their audiences through social media both through their own profiles and with their athletes. The Lakers have 19.6 million twitter followers while the NBA has 11.1 million.

The NBA requires their players to have at least one social media account. Athletes use their profiles to help fans get an inside look into their thoughts and their personal life.

For example on April 13, 2013 Kobe Bryant posted on his Facebook wall a very personal thought on his potential career ending injury. The post was a very powerful thing because it gave fans a glimpse into Kobe Bryant’s doubt and frustration.

Screen Shot 2014-09-04 at 10.30.07 PM

Social Channels:

In Jour 398 I am excited to learn more about Google plus. I have little experience with it and I hope to learn to use it in a productive way. It is a useful tool that has grown in popularity in the last few years.

Leave a Reply

