Twitter chat with PRSA Entertainment and Sports #J398 #SocialChat

On Nov. 5, 2014 I participated in a live Twitter chat with the Public Relations Society of America Entertainment and Sports or PRSA Ent. & Sports.

The Twitter chat featured guest, Gina Lehe, senior director of communications and brand management of the College Football Playoffs.

I began the Twitter chat late was only able to answer two of the PRSA Ent & Sports questions. However, the chat was still a rewarding experience. I learned about the day-to-day routine of a communication professional in the sports industry and their strategies of engagement during a live sporting event. This was one of my favorite Tweets from Lehe because it shows that if your serious about engaging with a professional they will respond and offer the opportunity to connect.

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 8.15.21 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 8.15.15 PM

When I finally logged into Twitter I offered my insight and one of my answers actually received a favorite from the PRSA. I was hoping for a reply or retweet but that I had to settle for only a favorite.

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 7.41.24 PM

However, this experience was great and it opened my eyes to a brand new and easy way of engaging with professionals. The greatest part was most of these professionals hold the positions I aspire to one day acquire.

Engaging in this chat helped me take a small step towards growing my presence in the professional world of my beat. At the end of the chat I gained three new professional followers and one of my Tweets was included in their Storify of the chat.

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 11.00.30 PM

https://storify.com/Alyssa_Barnett_/communications-strategy-scoring-a-touchdown-with-y

Although not all my Tweets received engagement, I would consider this experience a great success for a young aspiring public relations professional like myself. I look forward to continuing to participate in Twitter chats held by the PRSA Entertainment and Sports. A schedule of future networking events can be found on their website, prsa.org.

Leave a Reply

